Leinster Results


Leinster Results

We’ll have a full round up including team news and scorers sent in to rob@knockon.ie later on Monday.

Division 1b

The top four all won at the weekend as the race for the title intensifies at the half way point in the season.

Caption: Action from Kilkenny’s win in Longford. Pic: With Thanks to so Killkenny

Gorey 34, Carlow 13
Longford 10, Kilkenny 15
Newbridge 8, Tullow 26
Wicklow 22, Malahide 24

Newcastle West 10, Dundalk 24

Newcastle West Dundalk

Newcastle West 10
Dundalk 24

Newcastle West: James Kelly 1 try, Herlihy 1 con.
Dundalk Scorers: Stephen Murphy 1 try, TC Campbell 1 try, Ultan Murphy 4 pens, 2 cons

By Alan Deegan at Cullinagh Grounds

There was a frisson of excitement in anticipation of this all Ireland quarter final match as both sides were welcomed onto the field through a tunnel of supporters at a sunkissed but chilly Cullinagh Grounds in Newcastle West.

The home club had set the tone for the day with top class hospitality that created a great, family friendly atmosphere and also included the game being broadcast live on local radio.

AUDIO Ene Fa’Atau Dundalk player coach.

UBL Results Round Up

Galwegians Belfast Harlequins

Ulster Bank League Division 1a

Scorers: Clontarf: Tries: Michael Brown, Matt D’Arcy, Rob McGrath; Con: David Joyce 3; Pens: David Joyce 2
Ballynahinch: Try: Jonny Murphy; Con: Chris Quinn; Pens: Chris Quinn 3
HT: Clontarf 24 Ballynahinch 10

Scorers: Terenure College: Tries: Stephen O’Neill 2, Kevin Buckley, James O’Donoghue 2; Cons: James Thornton 3; Pen: James Thornton
Old Belvedere: Tries: Charlie Rock, Aaron Sheehan, Daniel Riordan, David Mongan; Cons: Josh Glynn, Shane McDonald; Pen: Josh Glynn
HT: Terenure College 19 Old Belvedere 15

Clogher Valley 43 Connemara 10

Action from Clogher Valley's 43-10 victory over Connemara in the All Ireland Junior Cup Quarter final on Nov 22. Pic: Sandra Armstrong Photographgy

Ulster Bank All Ireland Junior Cup - Quarter Final

Clogher Valley 43
Connemara 10

Clogher Valley scorers: Ryan Wilson 2 tries; Alastair Trenier, Andrew Breen and Paul Armstrong 1 try each; 1 penalty try; Philip Holme 1 pen, 5 cons.
Connemara scorers: Jack Vaughan 1 try; Shane Sweeney 1 con, 1 pen.

A powerful first half display lay the groundwork for a hugely impressive home win for Ulster side Clogher Valley in the All Ireland Junior Cup on Saturday.

Last year’s runners up are back in the last four after overpowering Connacht league leaders Connemara in the scrum and maul and enveloping the energetic and expansive visiting side with diciplined and well structured defense and high tempo attack.

AUDIO: Clogher Valley Head Coach David Black

Action from Clogher Valley’s 43-10 victory over Connemara in the All Ireland Junior Cup Quarter final on Nov 22. Pic: Sandra Armstrong Photographgy

All Ireland Junior Wrap

Action from Coolmine 10, CIYMS 18 in All Ireland Junior cup. Pic: Voicu Duma

The north east of Ireland has a strong stranglehold on this year’s All Ireland Junior Cup, with Ulster clubs very much excelling after Sunday’s quarter final action

Bangor, CIYMS, Clogher Valley and Dundalk are into the last four with all bar last year’s runners up Clogher Valley making their first ever appearance at that stage.

The closest game came in Bangor where the home club came form behind at half time to win a thriller 14-7 against reigning champions Enniscorthy.

UBL Team News

Ulster Bank Ball

Ulster Bank League Division 1A (Saturday 2:30 unless stated)
Castle Avenue:  Clontarf               v              Ballynahinch

Clontarf: 1. Ian Hirst, 2. Cian Culleton, 3. Royce Burke-Flynn, 4. Tom Byrne, 5. Conor O’Keeffe, 6. Karl Moran, 7. Adrian D’Arcy, 8. Tony Ryan, 9. Sam Cronin (Capt), 10. David Joyce, 11. Dan Hanratty, 12. Matt D’arcy, 13. Michael Brown, 14. Rob McGrath, 15. Ariel Robles SUBS: 16. Brian Keelan, 17. Ivan Soroka, 18. Liam Og Murphy, 19. Peter du Toit , 20. Rob Keogh,

Ballynahinch: 1 Kyle McCall , 2. Jonny Murphy, 3. Jonny Simpson, 4. John Donnan, 5. James Simpson, 6. Jonny Madden, 7. Paul Pritchard, 8. Michael Graham, 9. Aaron Cairns. 10. Harry Mc Aleese (Capt.), 11. Ross Adair 12. Robin Harte, 13. Richard Reaney, 14. Chris Quinn, 15. Stephen McCauley  SUBS: 16.Steve Honey, 17. James McBriar, 18. Conor Piper, 19. Stuart Orr, 20. David Mc Guigan

UBL Weekend Guide

28th September 2013; Finlay Bealham, Corinthians, is tackled by James Sullivan (left) and Darragh Crosbie, Dublin University. Ulster Bank League Division 1B, Dublin University v Corinthians, Sydney Parade, Dublin. Picture credit: Tommy Grealy / Actionshots.ie

UBL Division 1a

Life after the winning streak begins for Terenure on Saturday at Lakelands where Old Belvedere make the short trek in good spirits after their impressive win over UCD last week. The Anglsea Road side are very much well in the top four hunt for the moment.

We’ve gone for home wins in all five games with Cork Con and Belvo likely to be close but we just can’t see them winning. Dolphin are getting closer and closer to their first win, they’ve had three draws and this weekend could be their chance against a St Mary’s side just three points above them.

Junior Cup Verdicts

The vital second try for Eoin Bourke as St Mary's stand frustrated.

Ulster Bank All Ireland Junior Cup – Quarter Finals

Newcastle West v Dundalk (Note earlier kick off of 2pm)

Scene Set

Two side’s place high in our Top 20 provincial league clubs for November clash as third ranked Newcastle West host second ranked Dundalk in a fascinating match up. The Limerick club are playing only their second ever All Ireland Cup game having overwhelmed OLBC in round one.

The hosts lost for the first time this season last weekend in the Munster Junior Challenge Cup as Cobh Pirates caught them off guard with a fine display. Dundalk come into the game unbeaten and off the back of a particularly impressive win over Coolmine last week. This is one of our two feature games on twitter on Saturday.

Connacht Previews

Monivea Ballina

Connacht Junior League Division 1a (Sunday 2:30)

Ballina v Monivea

A fascinating game on the cards in Heffernan Park as Ballina look to get themselves out of trouble towards the bottom end of the league and the visitors Monivea aim to stay firmly in the title race.

This is a huge test of Monivea’s title credentials. Cory Brown’s side are a work in prorgess in one sense but there has been a rebuild job under way for more than one season and last year they played some high tempo entertaining rugby with plenty of success too.

Leinster Previews

Gorey and Tullow from Gorey RFC website

Leinster Division 1b

Just a single point separates the top four teams in the second tier of the Leinster league as we reach the half way mark this weekend.

A first loss for Gorey opened the door for Tullow to join them on 22 points, both sides have five wins from six while one point back are Malahide and Kilkenny who have four wins from six but have had a better time picking up bonus points.

Fixtures (all Sunday 2:30)

Gorey v Co Carlow

Not a bad game for the Wexford side to have after a first loss in Malahide. Carlow will be a test and a menace but the black and amber are yet to win they are and coming off a gut wrenching one score loss with fellow relegation threatened side, Newbridge. That all points to a home win, maybe without a bonus.

Home by 11

Site Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us